Experiment 4.0 – Feed me rolled oats and wheat bran

Inspired by my late night findings on YouTube, I decided to use oats instead of cardboard or straw.

I was not really thinking clearly doing this one. I just poured some oatmeal that I usually have for breakfast into a plastic bag. This oatmeal has been “enriched” with fiber from wheat bran.

Glenn Coville at coldmushrooms recommends that you use unprocessed grains that still have their protective hull. You can read more about it here http://coldmushrooms.weebly.com/grain-spawn.html.

It was late so I figured it’s easier just to use something I have at home in my kitchen. I was thinking it could still work since the fibers from wheat comes from the protective hull of the wheat.

Then I poured some luke warm tap water into the bag. I don’t know how much  water I used but it didn’t seem to be that much but my oats instantly turned into porridge. If I do this experiment again I’ll probably use less water, if any.

Yummy oat meal in a plastic bag!

bag_of_oats

My friend Phellinus igniarius.

eldticka

 

I then soaked the mushroom in water since  the mushroom was too dry in a previous experiment.

soaking_in_water

Lastly I tucked away the mushroom in a nice moist oatmeal bed.

into_the_oats

I then put the plastic bag into another plastic bag containing bleach hoping it would giving it some protection.

And waited…

Leave a comment